Jan 27: 366-27 Divine Grunge DBz

Oh the things I am learning as I search for more to bring to YOU!  Royanna at Divine Digital has a video about creating a digital scrap-booking paper from scratch.  Take a look for yourself at what she does:

I’m willing to bet you will have so much fun following along and creating your own!  But just in case you aren’t quite ready yet to start completely from scratch yourself, here’s the texture that I created, using Royanna for inspiration.  I’m calling this one “Divine Grunge DBz”

Texture 366-27 Divine Grunge DBz

I started this with a royal blue base and my first overlay was a photo I took a couple of days ago, of a water about to boil on my stove top.  Then I popped over to Graphic Mania and took a look through 15 Old Paper Textures that are being offered up by Rafiq Elmansy (thank you, Rafiq!).  I used numbers 00, 07, 12 (and duplicated 12) and 13 (for Old Paper Texture #13, I burned in on the edges a bit first for more edge definition before applying it).  I followed Royanna’s lead and just started PLAYING with each texture layer – and I’m pretty pleased with my result – what do you think?

For my before/after example, I was inspired by my anger to create this poster.  In Iowa this week, a woman was arrested for hoarding MY breed (Cocker Spaniels).  In 2009 something similar happened in Texas.  I have had the honor of being able to photograph some of the dogs adopted after the Texas incident, and Buddy is the perfect poster child, I think you’ll agree.  I applied the Divine Grunge DBz texture as a color dodge for this striking effect.

If the message is one that you’d like to share, please feel free to take the following image – post it, share it, print it – spread the word!  I only ask that you leave my (c) info intact and that you don’t sell the image.

Please do post links to projects where YOU have used this provided texture and tell us how you tweaked it to fit your needs.  Feedback is welcomed – leave comments and questions and I’ll see if I can come up with some answers! All textures are available for personal or commercial use. They are NOT allowed to be resold or to be claimed as your own.  Just click through for the larger size file, right-click that one and save the texture to your own computer.  My sample uses of the texture are not available for any use.

Now – if you’ve gone wild with a texture and just LOVE it … a small donation showing that love sure would be appreciated (but is not mandatory).   Just go to PayPal.com and send your donation to DogBreedz (at) yahoo.com.

Happy Texturing!

Peggy at DogBreedz.net and the DogBreedz Blog

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment