Jan 24: 366-24 Wall

Still diggin’ the textures that popped up around me during the Earthdog trial in October.  This was a nifty wall that made a wonderful background when I photographed Salsa the Border Terrier earlier in the day.  If it made a cool looking background for an actual out-of-the-camera shot, what sorts of imaginative uses could my Texture Blog Followers come up with if I turned it into a stand-alone texture?  Grab it, and let’s see!

Texture 366-24 Wall

Even tho how it looked with Salsa made me want to turn it into a texture, my ol’ brain thought back to an image I took almost a year ago of ASCOB Cocker Spaniel Sully (GCH Nickleby’s Hero On The Hudson) during the Cocker Spaniel Club of San Diego specialty show in 2011.  This is such a handsome boy!  The image is a bit grainy (bad lighting, indoors, and I choose to not use flash when ringside at dog shows), but it’s still one of my favorites of Sully.  In fact, I’m happy to say, that this original image inspired Polly Bennett – a very talented artist – to paint a beautiful watercolor (check out Polly’s Portraits online).  So, back to the Texture (even tho telling the stories is fun for me) … I took out Sully’s show lead and used the Wall texture as an overlay at 60% opacity.  I used the eraser brush (large, soft-edged) at 100% to bring the Cocker back out, and used an even larger brush at 25% over the very foreground to help keep some of the lovely perspective on the show flooring.  What do you think of the final result?

Please do post links to projects where YOU have used this provided texture and tell us how you tweaked it to fit your needs.  Feedback is welcomed – leave comments and questions and I’ll see if I can come up with some answers! All textures are available for personal or commercial use. They are NOT allowed to be resold or to be claimed as your own.  Just click through for the larger size file, right-click that one and save the texture to your own computer.  My sample uses of the texture are not available for any use.

Now – if you’ve gone wild with a texture and just LOVE it … a small donation showing that love sure would be appreciated (but is not mandatory).   Just go to PayPal.com and send your donation to DogBreedz (at) yahoo.com.

Happy Texturing!

Peggy at DogBreedz.net and the DogBreedz Blog

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

