Jan 8: 366-08 Old Paper

I have a wonderful old paper design that I worked up from scratch and used in an ad for a Dalmatian and his owner.  But what if you didn’t want to go to all that trouble for a similar effect?  Nick at The Digital Yard Sale has the perfect answer:  use his Old Paper Texture, pictured here:

Texture 366-08 Old Paper

Nick shows us in this YouTube video how he used this texture to distress his logo for an older “photo in the pocket” type of look.  I used most of his tutorial, with a couple of changes, for my final example.  I decided to use a photo I took of GCH Caran’s Days of Future Passed (call name Zion) that I took while he was in the ring at the 2011 Santa Ana Kennel Club All Breed Show.  His registered name reminds me of time passing – which for a photo makes me think of an older photo, distressed over time (his name also reminds me of The Moody Blues, but I didn’t find any inspiration from the corresponding album cover … ).  Here is the original photo and my final result.  Not sure if I’m happy with my choices in fonts, but this will do for an example of using the texture.

Feel free to also post links to projects where YOU have used this provided texture and tell us how you tweaked it to fit your needs.  Feedback is welcomed! All textures are available for personal or commercial use. They are NOT allowed to be resold or to be claimed as your own.  Just click through for the larger size file, right-click that one and save the texture to your own computer.  My sample uses of the texture are not available for any use.

Now – if you’ve gone wild with a texture and just LOVE it … a small donation showing that love sure would be appreciated (but is not mandatory).   Just go to PayPal.com and send your donation to DogBreedz (at) yahoo.com.  Happy Texturing!

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Jan 8: 366-08 Old Paper

  1. […] just LOVE how this turned out!  This is built upon the Paper Texture that was offered to you in my January 8 blog post.  On top of it I used a photo I had on file of a […]

Leave a Reply

